Monday, April 22, 2013

Students

Students aren't perfect. As an education major, I know that.

But there are things that make me wonder: "What are you doing here?"

Franciscan students aren't perfect.

But when an underage student wakes another student at three in the morning so she can get into the dorm, and it turns out she's so drunk she can barely walk?

That's when it becomes clear that there's no logical reason for those students to be at a school like this.

This is a top tier university, academically and morally.

If you're getting so drunk you can't make it to class in the morning, you're pulling down the university in both ways.

On top of that, you're pulling yourself down.

And the rules you follow? You go overboard. "Quiet hours" doesn't mean "Shut up and don't make any noise at all ever."

Why waste the time and the crapton of money that it costs to be here? If you are so desperate to get out that you're breaking the rules that will get you kicked out, there's a much easier way. Just leave. It's not worth your time.

And it's not worth making the other students miserable or making them hate being here as much as you obviously do.

You want respect? You have to earn it.

No comments:

Post a Comment